It’s not often when we see a a sports radio host get surprised with news about themselves live on the air, but that’s what happened to Dan Patrick on Thursday’s edition of The Dan Patrick Show. Patrick was joined on air by Dave Goren, executive director of the National Sports Media Association, who revealed to Patrick that he was the first inductee into the NSMA’s Hall of Fame class of 2020.

Patrick was one of ten Hall of Fame sportscaster finalists for 2020, along with James Brown, Joe Buck, Skip Caray, Greg Gumbel, Dan Kelly, Bill King, Cawood Ledford, Tim McCarver, and Pam Oliver. There is also a Hall of Fame sportswriter category, and the ten 2020 finalists are Ira Berkow, Ray Didinger, Mike Downey, William Nack, Bill Plaschke, Claire Smith, Rick Telander, Tom Verducci, Michael Wilbon, and Dick Young.The rest of the inductees, along with the NSMA’s yearly winners, will be announced next week.The NSMA has been honoring local and national sportswriters and broadcasters since 1959, and created its Hall of Fame in 1962. The first Hall of Fame inductee was Grantland Rice, and last year’s honorees were Doc Emrick, Peter King, Tony Kornheiser, and Bob Ley.[NSMA]

About Joe Lucia

I hate your favorite team. I also sort of hate most of my favorite teams.