There seem to be about eighty different broadcasting Hall of Fames, but the “official” one is the on SVG (Sports Video Group) created in 2007. The “Sports Broadcasting Hall of Fame” only has eleven members, but will be adding nine more this December. The are all walks of “Sports Production” life, but the class will be highlighted by Vin Scully, Curt Cowdy and Charlie Steinberg. Via the SBHoF press release….

The Sports Broadcasting Hall of Fame 2008, formed in 2007 to honor sports TV industry innovators and leaders, announced its 2008 inductee class today in New York. Marvin Bader, Chet Forte, Curt Gowdy, Teddy Nathanson, Don Ohlmeyer, Val Pinchbeck, Vin Scully, Bob Seiderman, and Charlie Steinberg will be officially inducted into the Sports Broadcasting Hall of Fame on Dec. 16 in New York in a ceremony hosted by Jim Nantz, CBS Sports lead play-by-play announcer.

More than 80 industry leaders from national broadcast networks, cable sports networks, leagues, teams, and related organizations participated in the selection process this past summer. Honorees were elected in seven categories: management, production, technical operations, engineering, leagues and teams, manufacturers and vendors, and on-air talent.

Interesting choices, and I’m all for Gowdy, Steiner and Scully being on any Hall of Fame list, but don’t you think they should have just got all of the obvious ones out of the way the first year? At this pace, the likes of Al Michaels and John Madden will be passed away for 20 years, before they get in.

Ohlmeyer, Scully, Gowdy Top 2008 Sports Broadcasting Hall of Fame Class (Global Newswire)

Comments are closed.