San Francisco Giants Duane Kuiper and Mike Krukow, Ford C Frick award finalists

The Baseball Hall of Fame announced the nominees for the 2024 Ford C. Frick Award, featuring several names familiar to fans watching games today.

The ballot consists of Joe Buck, Joe Castiglione, Gary Cohen, Tom Hamilton, Ernie Johnson Sr, Ken Korach, Mike Krukow, Duane Kuiper, and Dan Shulman.

This is the second of four years featuring “a composite ballot of local and national voices whose broadcast careers have extended into, or began following, the advent of the Wild Card in 1994.”

Last year’s Frick Award was won by Pat Hughes of the Chicago Cubs. Al Michaels won in 2021, while Jack Graney, who called games from 1932-1953, posthumously won in 2022.

Most of these nominees have been finalists in the past. Buck and Shulman were finalists for the 2021 award that Michaels won. A year ago, Castiglione, Cohen, Doucet, Hamilton, Johnson, and Kuiper were all finalists, and several of those were also finalists in prior years. Krukow made the shortlist for the 2017 award, won by Bill King. This is Korach’s first appearance as a finalist.

Here’s the subcommittee that created the ballot, and the full committee that will vote on the 2024 winner.

The 2024 Frick Award ballot was created by a subcommittee of the voting electorate that included past Frick honorees Marty BrennamanBob Costas and Pat Hughes, and broadcast historians David J. Halberstam and Curt Smith.

Final voting for the 2024 Frick Award will be conducted by an electorate comprised of the 12 living Frick Award recipients and three broadcast historians/columnists.

The electorate includes past Frick honorees BrennamanCostasKen HarrelsonHughesJaime JarrínTony KubekDenny MatthewsAl MichaelsJon MillerEric NadelBob Uecker and Dave Van Horne, and historians/columnists Halberstam (historian), Barry Horn (formerly of the Dallas Morning News), and Smith (historian).

As I say every year, it’s impossible to predict the winner. All ten finalists are worthy winners. The eventual winner will be honored on July 20 in Cooperstown, New York at the Awards Presentation during the 2024 Hall of Fame Weekend.

[Baseball Hall of Fame]

About Joe Lucia

I hate your favorite team. I also sort of hate most of my favorite teams.