The Sports Broadcasting Hall of Fame has announced its 10th annual class of inductees and it’s a very distinguished group of honorees. Included in the group are familiar broadcastsers like Verne Lundquist, Tim McCarver and Robin Roberts, executives like CBS Sports Chairman Sean McManus and former MSG Network president Joe Cohen, and  famed baseball director Bill Webb.

But the one person who leads this particular class is Craig Sager. The NBA on TNT sideline reporter who has been undergoing an extended battle with leukemia will also be part of the latest group of honorees for the Sports Broadcasting Hall of Fame.

Beginning his career in Florida, Sager has been with Turner Sports dating back to 1980 and filled a myriad of roles including NBA on TNT sideline reporter, working the MLB Postseason, Olympic basketball for NBC and other events.

It’s an honor that’s well deserved not just for Sager, but also Lundquist whose career has been well chronicled, former SportsCenter and current GMA co-host Roberts and McManus who has been at the helm of CBS Sports dating back to the late 1990’s and brought the NFL back to the Tiffany Network after losing the sport in 1993.

Also part of the class will be Dan Rooney, chairman of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Bob Mikkelson who pioneered golf coverage, and Andrea Berry, the first field tech manager for CBS.

The Sports Broadcasting Hall of Fame will hold its induction ceremony on Tuesday, December 13 in New York.

[Sports Video Group]

About Ken Fang

Ken has been covering the sports media in earnest at his own site, Fang's Bites since May 2007 and at Awful Announcing since March 2013.

He provides a unique perspective having been an award-winning radio news reporter in Providence and having worked in local television.

Fang celebrates the four Boston Red Sox World Championships in the 21st Century, but continues to be a long-suffering Cleveland Browns fan.

Comments are closed.