It’s not going to move the mountains in the college sports landscape, but a win is a win. CBS Sports Network has announced that it has retained the Patriot League extending their 13 year partnership.

The Patriot League is a lower-rung FCS conference and isn’t part of the BCS, but does get to the NCAA Basketball tournament every year. Its teams such as Bucknell, Lehigh, Holy Cross and Navy have won NCAA Tournament games, however, the Patriot League doesn’t have that brand name in college sports that the ACC, Big Ten, Big 12, Pac-12 or SEC carry. But, the Patriot League likes it that way.

This new contract with CBS Sports Network comprises at least 24 live events which includes basketball and lacrosse. CBS Sports Network will get the rights to the men’s and women’s basketball championship as as well the men’s lacrosse tournament.

The Patriot League is unique that its member schools at one time did not offer athletic scholarships and while that is no longer the case, the conference’s mantra is to maintain high academic standards for its students who play sports.

Both CBS and the Patriot League maintain that the new deal is a multi-year contract, but no financial terms were announced. The relationship goes back to when CBS Sports Network was known as College Sports Television and later CSTV.

It continues to provide CBS Sports Network some live content during the winter and spring months.

[Patriot League]

About Ken Fang

Ken has been covering the sports media in earnest at his own site, Fang's Bites since May 2007 and at Awful Announcing since March 2013.

He provides a unique perspective having been an award-winning radio news reporter in Providence and having worked in local television.

Fang celebrates the four Boston Red Sox World Championships in the 21st Century, but continues to be a long-suffering Cleveland Browns fan.

Comments are closed.