cowboysredskins

NFL flexes Cowboys-Redskins to Sunday Night Football for Week 17

The NFL has revealed their choices for the Week 17 flex games and to the surprise of nobody, the de facto NFC East title game between the Cowboys and Redskins has been chosen for the final game of the regular season Sunday Night.  Since the new flex scheduling, Sunday Night Football has always received the matchup with the most clear playoff implications on the line.  That included a 2010 matchup between the Rams and Seahawks when both teams were under .500, but the winner took the NFC West.  This year, that division title game just also happens to go to the most oversaturated division in the NFL – the NFC East, where seemingly every team gets about 10 nationally televised games every year.  (That's your cue, east coast bias aficionados.)

AA_Logo_SM

Subscribe to the AA Newsletter

But that's not all as far as flexing goes.  In Week 17, both Fox and CBS have a national doubleheader window at 4:25 PM ET (what the NFL is dubbing a "double doubleheader" week).  CBS will likely air Miami at New England to most of the country while Fox's 4:25 PM game will be Green Bay at Minnesota.  Depending on what happens between the Bears and Lions earlier in the day, Minnesota could be facing a "win or go home" situation while the Packers can clinch a first round bye with a win.  Adrian Peterson also has an outside shot at breaking Eric Dickerson's NFL rushing record while 2,000 yards is certainly in sight.

I'm a bit surprised Houston-Indianapolis didn't get the CBS flex spot as Houston controls their own destiny for homefield advantage and Chuck Pagano returns to the sidelines.  Alas, you'll likely be seeing Tom Brady instead, as usual.

Here's the entire Week 17 schedule…

TAMPA BAY AT ATLANTA

1:00 PM (ET)

FOX

N.Y. JETS AT BUFFALO

1:00 PM (ET)

CBS

BALTIMORE AT CINCINNATI

1:00 PM (ET)

CBS

CHICAGO AT DETROIT

1:00 PM (ET)

FOX

HOUSTON AT INDIANAPOLIS

1:00 PM (ET)

CBS

CAROLINA AT NEW ORLEANS

12:00 PM (CT)

FOX

PHILADELPHIA AT N.Y. GIANTS

1:00 PM (ET)

FOX

CLEVELAND AT PITTSBURGH

1:00 PM (ET)

CBS

JACKSONVILLE AT TENNESSEE

12:00 PM (CT)

CBS

KANSAS CITY AT DENVER

2:25 PM (MT)

CBS

GREEN BAY AT MINNESOTA*

3:25 PM (CT)

FOX

MIAMI AT NEW ENGLAND*

4:25 PM (ET)

CBS

OAKLAND AT SAN DIEGO

1:25 PM (PT)

CBS

ARIZONA AT SAN FRANCISCO

1:25 PM (PT)

FOX

ST. LOUIS AT SEATTLE

1:25 PM (PT)

FOX

DALLAS AT WASHINGTON*

8:20 PM (ET)

NBC

 
Matt Yoder

About Matt Yoder

Managing Editor of Awful Announcing and award winning sportswriter. Bloguin consigliere. The biggest cat in the whole wide world.

Quantcast